JOIN US AT THE 5TH ANNIVERSARY COFFEE SHOP!!

JOIN US AT THE COFFEE SHOP 2009!!

ADUI CELEBRATES 100+!


Recent Posts Giveaway of the Day Imageshack Uploader Go Down



Home Forum Help Search Admin Arcade
Profile Photo Gallery Links Staff list Calendar Members list Recent posts
Welcome to The Coffee Shop! Don't forget to visit our Sister Sites...
Family of Forums Coffee Shop 2009 TV Fanatics The Hideaway Train Station/Diner Coffee Shop Club Lupus/ MCTD Johnz Insane Empire The Tent Dwellers Pogo Finishers All That Care Our Hangout SMF Support Coffeenole.com



The Forum Family Image HostOur Tube-The Family of Forums Video Host
Coffeenole's Coffee Shop
December 17, 2017, 03:43:47 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Play our trivia games! Links to Coffee Time Trivia, Caillea's Daily Trivia, Kathy's Funtime Trivia, John'z Insane Trivia, and Princess' Friends Trivia are on the portal page!
 
  Home   Forum   Help Search Arcade Gallery Links Staff List Calendar Login Register  

I'm so stupid!!!


Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I'm so stupid!!!  (Read 623 times)
Kathy
Affiliated Admin
New Author
******

Coffee Shop Reputation: 171
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 43


Wishing You Well, Kathy


WWW
« on: August 28, 2008, 01:50:59 pm »

Ai yi yi...
Earlier this week I googled some words I needed (medical of course)
I clicked on the site that appeared to be a decent site with medical knowledge.
Then I clicked on a story I wanted to read.
I immediatly received a warning to turn on my anti spyware and RUN it.

Well I wasn't on my AOL browser but IE.
It took away my photo background and was replaced with 2 names of the trojan/virus I barely can read (due to my icons covering it)But here is what I can see :Warning______32/Adware____irtumon_Detected on your computer.
And this one Warning Win 32/Privacy Remover. M64 Detected on your computer

After many times of trying to get my free AOL spy ware updated then I was in the middle of running it the computer just stopped.
I could only exit via unplugging the laptop.
I turned it back on I have my AOL icon showing to "resume" I have tried so many times to click, but the arrow for my mouse stays frozen and nothing will load in the bottom tool bar except the battery charger.
The background is white.

I NEED this laptop when my legs are weak or swollen to get in bed and stay connected to this site.

QUESTION: Years ago I was SMART and could go into Safe Mode and tweak settings and fix computers.
Now I'm DUMB (honestly my brain cells can not hold retain information, you might say my brain is a lot like a hard drive)
I am tempted to call Best Buy and have the Geek Squad come out But I need to charge this repair and don't feel comfortable giving a human my credit card , Paypal yes , humans no.

Is there ANYTHING I can do like hit F6 or when it loads so I can go into safe mode and try to fix it?
The AOL anti software is installed on there, but I guess I never activated it.
I SCREWED MYSELF... UGH BAD COMPUTER OWNER.....BAD!

 Cry Any advice will be appreciated.
Kathy   praying.gif
Report Spam   Logged

I look normal, as I have an "Invisable Illness". You can not catch it, you can not see it. It's called Lupus.My body is attacking itself on the inside.
www.LupusMCTD.com Represents:
1) We are patients helping researchers build a future for the lives of others...
2) Where HOPE is a WORK In Progress
3) Pay It Forward~Giving Back To The Future Lupus/MCTD Patients

Social Buttons

JennieBabe513
Veteran Author
**

Coffee Shop Reputation: 44
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 156



« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 02:15:18 pm »

You're not stupid. It happens to the best of us. I had a similar experience about 6 months ago.  I was able to do a system restore to bring it back. I dont know how much function your computer has but if you can restore it, it works. So I will try to walk you through it if you would like...
Report Spam   Logged

oldbat
Super Grand Champion Author
*****

Coffee Shop Reputation: 413
Offline Offline

Posts: 6422


« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 05:51:09 pm »

Yeah, think I'd try that too. If you are still really stuck, might send Fleamailman a PM-he's really sharp at that sort of thing, and probably wouldn't mind too much! Wink
Report Spam   Logged
bookladynomore
Try to find the good in all people.(sometimes hard ,tho)
Grand Champion Author
****

Coffee Shop Reputation: 147
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1135


I would chat with just about anyone on here.


« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2009, 09:39:31 pm »

diod you guys change something? i cannot get my chat box to work on her or the other place.it says need plug-ins and I don't know ntohing about those.
Report Spam   Logged


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by EzPortal


Go UP

The Forum Family Image HostOur Tube-The Family of Forums Video Host

Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum

Buy traffic for your forum/website
traffic-masters
Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines